My Little Talk with Patrick Damphier

Hello all!

I hope everyone is enjoying his or her MLK/inauguration day. I know I am. I desperately needed a day of rest after this weekend. (Don’t bring a crazy straw to a whiskey party. That’s all I’m going to say about that.)

As I mentioned in my last post, I have been emailing a few of the guys from Paper Rival. Last week, I heard back from guitarist/drummer, Patrick Damphier.

As a fan, I freaked out a little (or completely) when I saw his name in my inbox. But, I tried to maintain my composure (aka had a small dance-around-the-living-room-with-my-puppy party).He answered a few questions for me, so here’s our brief conversation.

-What have you been up to since Paper Rival? I love Field Days; has your new music been keeping you busy?
Since Paper Rival, I’ve been writing and recording under the Field Days name, playing with The Mynabirds, and building a studio in Nashville. Between all of that, I haven’t really had a free second.

-Do you keep in touch with the other guys?
I do. Some more than others, but yes. Brent (Coleman, guitarist) is now a full fledged yoga instructor. Pretty amazing, actually.

-PR still has a dedicated (and growing) fan base. Is there any chance of a reunion?
I won’t say no 100%, but if I had to guess, I’d say that the chances are very low.

-Who have you been listening to lately? Are you looking forward to any albums coming out in the near future?
I’ve been listening a lot to a Chicago guy who records under the name Lionlimb. I think he’s very talented. I’m very much looking forward to this new Foxygen record that’s about to come out.

Thanks so much for taking the time to talk to me!

In regards to his answer about a reunion, it’s not a ‘no.’ (I remain optimistic!)

So, here are a few videos from Field Days, The Mynabirds, Lionlimb and Foxygen, as well as another from Paper Rival, because I just couldn’t fit them all into my last post. (They are all so good!) All of the following songs have a different feel to them, so there’s definitely something for everyone!
Subscribe, comment, share, all that good stuff!







XO
Caroline

Leave a Reply

